Standard

My name is Sam Newton, a 26-year-old from Spearfish, S.D. who is currently living in Minneapolis, and this blog will track my adventures with the Big Brother Big Sisters mentorship program. I spent my early 20s chasing my career – earning my college degree, working and interning for little to no money to gain experience, moving from state-to-state, etc. – and it gave me little time to give back or fulfill the desire to help others. Within past year I’ve gained a full-time job with the Minnesota Vikings working in the public relations department, something I’ve worked towards for quite some time. Now that I have a more stable career situation and a community to grow with, I have more opportunities to help out.

sam newton The first involvement I had with the BBBS of the Twin Cities was a few months ago when one of our Vikings players, Harrison Smith, hosted a kickball event for the BBBS local chapter. After working the event and seeing the kind of impact it had on not only the Littles, but also the Bigs, I got the wheels in motion to get involved as soon as I could.

I was approached by a staffer at BBBS about possibly doing some blog posts for their website when I showed interest in joining and it didn’t take much to convince me. If I can help share first-hand stories and real life experiences for such a helpful program, it’s a no-brainer.

The process thus far has been clear-cut, relatively simple and painless. The staff at BBBS has been very helpful and understanding. After attending a training session and completing interviews, background checks and the whole nine, the next step is to meet my Little, Kamell, and his family. I’m set to meet with them in a couple of hours, actually. It’s a unique situation to be in, one I haven’t been in before. It’ll be a great experience for me, as well as Kamell. I’d be lying if I said I wasn’t nervous but I’m definitely ready and have no reservations whatsoever. I’ll check back in with the next post following my initial meeting.

Peace.

Leave a Reply

